World Volunteer Web Home  
Volunteerism worldwide: News, views & resources
  Home   About us   Contact us   Contribute   Search   Sitemap 
Nominations open for volunteerism, non-profit research prize
03 May 2004

Washington, DC: Independent Sector announces the opening of the Virginia A. Hodgkinson Research Prize to recognize outstanding published research that enhances understanding of philanthropy, nonprofits, voluntary action and civil society.

Recipients of the Virginia A. Hodgkinson Research Prize are researchers and practitioners who work in or with the voluntary sector and through their work have achieved local, regional, national, or international impact and recognition. Two research prizes are awarded: The first prize is a gift of $2,000, and the second prize is $1,000.

Deadline for submission of nominations is 18 June 2004.

Last year’s first prize winner were Benjamin Gidron, Stanley Katz and Yeheskel Hasenfeld for their book, Mobilizing for Peace: Conflict Resolution in Northern Ireland, Israel/Palestine and South Africa.

"The book melds perspectives on nonprofits, conflict resolution and political sociology (fields of study that have been traditionally studied separately) and explores the role nonprofit organizations provide in strengthening conflict resolution to build civil society," Independent Sector reports.

Professors Lawrence Friedman of Indiana University and Mark McGarvie of the University of Richmond bagged the second prize for Charity, Philanthropy and Civility in American History, a collection of articles and essays that traces the history of philanthropy from 1601 to 2001.

Dr. Hodgkinson served as vice president for research at Independent Sector from 1983 to 1996. She is recognized worldwide for her leadership in the development of research on the nonprofit sector and volunteerism. With her guidance, Independent Sector developed its survey on Giving and Volunteering in the United States and The Nonprofit Almanac.

Independent Sector is a US-based coalition of national nonprofits, foundations and corporate philanthropy programmes.

Read the prize criteria and nomination process

From: Independent Sector